Shapinsay Development Trust AGM minutes. 27th September 2007 7.30pm

Public Meeting.

Directors Present.

Steven Bews (Vice chair, acting chair), Lisa-Marie Muir (secretary), Clive Horton (treasurer), Rachel Garson, Rosemary Horton, Samantha Muir, Pat Hazzledine, David Holmes, Richard Zawadski, Andrew Lidderdale.

Special Advisors and guest speakers present – Alan Caldwell, Gail Anderson and Sam Harcus.

Report from Chair. Steven gave a short report on the years achievements.

Consideration of accounts. The accounts were independently examined by AJB Scholes. Clare Evans approved and proposed the accounts and this was seconded by Simon Meason. A vote was taken to see who was in favour of adopting the accounts. 4 abstentions, 2 against but the majority, were in favour.

Appointment of Auditors. The recommendation by the board following a request to three separate accountants to provide a tender, was Orcadia. A vote was taken to see who was in favour of appointing Orcadia to do the accounts for financial year 2007-2008, the Majority was in favour and 4 people abstained.

Amendments to memorandum and articles of association. Following some information received by Alan Caldwell about changes in the requirements to comply with charity law for the land reform act, the board will not be adopting the changes proposed, but an open discussion was still had. The changes and wording were not in place in enough time for the board to make a decision about it before the AGM so it was decided that if we went ahead with the land reform act, we would hold an EGM after the new board of directors was in place.

Changes to the number of Directors to allow 3 nominated directors from 3 other Island organizations. Discussions were had on the role of special advisors in the Trust and whether we would lose the ability to appoint them once the changes were in place. Alan Caldwell explained that we would not lose the ability to do so just because it isn't in the memorandum and articles, we can still take the decision to appoint advisors. The resolution needed a 75% majority in favour. A vote was taken on adopting the changes in the memorandum and articles of association to allow 3 nominated directors from 3 other local organizations, the majority was is favour, no abstentions and non against. The motion was carried.

Discussions on the Community right to buy part of the land reform act. Alan Caldwell stood to talk briefly about what it was all about and answer any questions. The members had lots of questions. The general feeling from the membership was that they did not want the SDT to pursue the matter any further and that it was "antagonistic" to pursue it

any further. A vote was taken to see "who is in favour of the Shapinsay Development Trust pursuing the Land reform act community right to buy". There were 9 abstentions, no-one in favour and the majority was against.

All those in favour of changing the memorandum and articles of association to comply with Charity Law. 6 abstentions, non against, majority in favour.

Before the board resigned and appointed new directors, treasurer Clive Horton said that he had cheques to pay the national insurance and tax of the Community Development worker that need to be paid in the period when nobody will be eligible to sign a cheque because of the changes in signatories. A vote was taken to see if the membership was in favour of the cheques being written out and signed by the current signatories to pay the bills. Majority in favour, no abstentions and non against.

The Directors had all agreed to resign as directors at a previous meeting of the board, to allow a more democratically elected new board as there was a sense in the public that things hadn't been done very well in the past. So at this point all the current directors will stand down and allow an election to take place. There were 12 people standing for election for the 12 directors places on the board. So ballot papers were handed out to the membership. The members placed their votes and the papers were counted by Gail Anderson and Alan Caldwell as they are impartial.

At this point everyone adjourned for a refreshement and a look at the presentation boards produced by the sub-groups. The raffle was drawn, which made just over £30 for the youth sub-group.

The results of the ballot were: The new board is to comprise of James Sinclair, Patricia Lidderdale, Clare Evans, Rachel Garson, Lisa-Marie Muir, Simon Meason, Debbie Sarjent, Pat Hazzledine, David Holmes, Stanley Bews, Katie Gibson and Mike Smith.